News Flash


Posted on: June 11, 2019

Changes at the Peoria County Board of Election Commissioners

The chief judge of the Tenth Judicial Circuit is the appointing authority for the five commissioners serving on the Peoria County Board of Election Commissioners (PCBEC), which was formed in 2015, as a result of a county wide referendum in which voters approved of creating a more efficient and economical manner of conducting elections throughout Peoria County. The result of the referendum merged functions previously performed by the City of Peoria Election Commission and the Peoria County Clerk.

The chief judge's office wishes to announce the following changes to the PCBEC, effective June 11,2019

1. David B. Collins has resigned his position as commissioner due to a change in employment that will prevent him from being able to serve further. Dave has served with distinction as a charter member of the Commission and as its chairman for the past three years and leaves in excellent standing. He has led the Commission through the nuances of numerous election cycles with aplomb. He will be missed.

2. James J. Manning, a local attomey with Heyl Royster, has been chosen by chief judge Paul P. Gilfillan to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Mr. Collins. Jim is a Peoria native with 27 years of legal experience. He has also served on various non-profit boards and charitable organizations in the Peoria community as well as a member of the Medina Township Plan Commission. Jim will contribute to the continuing good work of the PCBEC.

Other commissioners currently serving on the PCBEC are Matt Bartolo, LaColis Reed, Mark Ketterer and Sandra Burke.

Point of Contact: Chief Judge Paul P. Gilfillan, (309) 677-6236    

Facebook Twitter Email